Congratulations to The Brain Neuromodulation Research Program!


A huge congratulations to our incredible researchers from the Brain Neuromodulation Research Program Professor Christopher Dayas, Professor Brett Graham, A/Prof James Welsh, A/Prof Marc Russo and Dr Lizzie Manning on being awarded NHMRC Ideas Grants in the final round for 2022.

Their projects are:

Lead Investigator – Professor Christopher Dayas

Research Team member – Dr Elizabeth Manning

A new way to target stress-related mental health disorders. Australians have faced significant emotional trauma over the past two years. This project could lead to new studies and therapeutic opportunities.

Funding awarded: $831,378.50

Lead Investigator –Professor Brett Graham

Research Team members – A/Prof James Welsh & A/Prof Marc Russo

Decoding touch and pain in the spinal cord. This project will decode network-level signalling of touch and pain in the spinal cord by studying activity in large nerve cell networks using imaging and complex systems analysis.

Funding awarded: $738,587.00

Lead Investigator – Dr Elizabeth Manning

How a specific region of the brain contributes to obsessive-compulsive disorder. The research project will analyse how the two distinct functional neural populations in the striatum contribute to different disturbances in flexible behaviour relevant to OCD

Funding awarded: $644,116.00

An outstanding result and a terrific way to end the year!

Aliza Day | Administration Assistant (Tuesday & Thursday)

Brain Neuromodulation Research Program
School of Biomedical Sciences and Pharmacy

Get in Touch

If you would like to make an appointment or have any questions, we’d like to hear from you.

Contact Us

Stay in the Loop

Keep up to date with pain treatment news.